Looking for Floor Plans

This is the place for general and miscellaneous posts on topics which might extend past the boundaries of any specific region.

Moderator: Groceteria

jameson079

Looking for Floor Plans

Post by jameson079 »

Hey guys,
I'm new here and I'm not even sure if I'm posting in the correct forrum. But anyways.

I'm a Interior Design student at the Arts Institute of CA - SF and doing a project. The project consist of a 220,000 sq ft floor plan of my choice. Well I've decieded to use this place as a grocery store.

This project that I'm working on has brought me to your website. I've been looking for floor plans of anykind of grocery stores (past, future, and/or present, it really doesn't matter to me) and have not been having any luck.

If you guys know any sites or could point me into the right direction, that would be great. Any help would be greatly appreciated :-D

Thanks you for your time
-Jameson
TheStranger
Veteran

Post by TheStranger »

Here's one from Storewanderer's collection, the former Lucky/Ralphs in Grass Valley, CA that is now becoming a Safeway:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/85812748@N00/123589941/
Chris Sampang
Groceteria
Great Pumpkin

Re: Looking for Floor Plans

Post by Groceteria »

jameson079 wrote:The project consist of a 220,000 sq ft floor plan of my choice. Well I've decieded to use this place as a grocery store.
FYI, that's about four or five times the size of the large Safeway at 16th and Potrero in SF. The biggest supermarkets being constructed today are generally in the 70K sq ft range. I think even most Wal-Mart Supercenters are only 180-200K sq ft. In other words, you're gonna have a hell of a large store there.

That said, are you just looking for layouts? Here are a couple historical ones from this site:

http://www.groceteria.com/colonial/colonial3.html

http://www.groceteria.com/ap/gallery/pages/Image80.html

You can contact me offline if you want larger versions of those. I may have a few others as well.